Customs import changes parcels on a conveyor belt

Customs import Changes effective 1 July 2021

Effective 1 July 2021, the duty and tax-free allowance for merchandise imports under EUR 22 from third countries (non-EU countries) no longer exists. This means that all merchandise received from third countries will be subject to import turnover tax, independently of the merchandise value. This change goes back to a decision at the EU level that aims to create more fiscal fairness on the national and EU market. So-called “good deals” in third countries (non-EU countries) are now also subject to taxes and will ultimately be more expensive. Customs duties will only be charged for a merchandise value of EUR 150 as previously.

 

Customs example purchase of a mobile phone cover in China

Example

Purchase of a mobile phone cover

Effective 1 July 2021, even a mobile phone cover that retails for EUR 3 is subject to the 20% import turnover tax. Due to the low merchandise value (blow EUR 150), no customs duties will be charged. The calculation basis for the import turnover tax (merchandise value + postage + customs) is EUR 6. The import turnover tax is EUR 1.20, which is 20% of the calculation basis. The import fee for third countries in this case is always EUR 5. The overall import costs (merchandise, shipping, import turnover tax and import fee) for the mobile phone cover ultimately add up to EUR 12.20 in this example.

Exception IOSS (Import-One-Stop Shop): If the online retailer charges Austrian VAT at the time of purchase, it can be assumed that the retailer has an Import-One-Stop Shop (IOSS) number and pays taxes.* In that case, no import turnover tax or import fee will apply to the item.

*We accept no responsibility for the correctness of this information. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to get in touch with the online retailer in question.

The role of Österreichische Post in imports

Österreichische Post is in charge of operational processing for import registrations (processing, determining and collecting import duties). Customs authorities perform random checks, which in exceptional cases can lead to delays. 

Unless the international retailer charges the import turnover tax directly to the client, Österreichische Post will first pay the amount due to the customs authorities and will then charge is to the recipient of the item at the time of delivery. Österreichische Post charges an import fee for the additional workload of recording and providing electronic data. If Österreichische Post does not receive all documents needed for determining the import duties, this will create a so-called customs impediment. We have to get in touch with the client and ask them to submit the required documents. 

Here are examples for customs impedimentsmissing proof of value for the item, implausible merchandise value, missing authorisations, etc.
Customs impediments create additional administrative work. We charge a processing and storage fee to cover that.

Please note! Even if you order from an online retailer in the EU, your merchandise might come from a third country (e.g., China).

What can you as a client do to ensure that your import item is processed smoothly? When placing your order, make sure that your address data are correct and complete (e.g., postcode).
Customs example purchase of a leather jacket in the USA

Calculation example

Purchase of a leather jacket

The leather jacket retails for EUR 1,000 and shipping is EUR 100. The purchase price and the shipping are the calculation basis for customs duties. The customs rate for leather clothes is 4%. In this example, the customs duties are EUR 44 (4% of EUR 1,100). 
In Austria, the import turnover tax for clothes is 20%. To calculate the 20% import turnover tax, the merchandise value, the shipping and the customs duties are added. 20% of that are EUR 228.80 in import turnover tax. In addition, there is the import rate in the amount of EUR 10, which is the fee charged by Österreichische Post for customs processing. The overall import fees add up to EUR 282.80.
Ultimately, the total cost of the leather jacket purchased in the USA including shipping and import duties is EUR 1,382.80.

 

Delivery of import items 

These are the options if you expect an import item:

  • Receive the item after delivery or pickup at your postal branch and payment of any import duties (customs duties, import fee for third-party imports, import turnover tax, excise tax, any applicable processing or storage fees)
  • Refuse receipt: there will be no additional charges and the item will be returned to the sender
Customs impediment

documentupload

Customs impediment

If you expect an item from a third country (non-EU country), not all required documents for the proper customs declaration might be available. In that case, we would have a customs impediment, for example:

Clients will receive information about any customs impediments in the item tracking overview (after entering the tracking number on post.at/sendungsverfolgung). We need the recipient to submit the missing documents to ensure smooth item delivery.

Submit documents for customs impediment

If there is a customs impediment, we will let the client know.
We will get in touch:

  1. via letter,
  2. via e-mail, or
  3. via the Österreichiche Post app

In any case, you will have the option of submitting the missing documents to allow for smooth customs clearance and item delivery.

  1. Item tracking

    Customs impediment during item tracking

    The customs impediment will be displayed in the item tracking overview. Clients have the option of uploading any missing documents by clicking on "Edit customs impediment. Submit documents".

  2. Customs impediment

    Upload missing documents online

    On the next page, you can edit your customs impediment. You also have the option of uploading the missing document.

  3. Customs impediment

    Eligible for delivery

    As soon as all missing documents have been submitted, we can proceed to customs clearance, after which the item will be delivered.

FAQ customs import

This regulation is based on an EU decision and has been introduced to create more fiscal fairness among international retailers and retailers in the EU and, ultimately, Austrian retailers. After all, clients who buy at retail stores in Austria have to pay VAT for the merchandise they purchase.

Personal gift parcels are merchandise items sent from a private person from a non-EU member state to another private person in the EU, as long as 

  • such parcels are sent only occasionally
  • such parcels include exclusively merchandise for the recipient’s personal use and their con-tent and volume does not lead to assume that they will be used commercially
  • the recipient does not receive any form of payment for such items.

These gift parcels are exempt from tax for up to a merchandise value of EUR 45.

Due to the required electronic data recording, we charge an import duty for third-country items in the amount of EUR 5.

The contents and value of the goods must be proven by means of proof of value and clearly displayed on the outside of the shipment. Please note that documents in Chinese, Cyrillic or similar characters cannot be accepted. 

If not all documents, records, etc. required for customs treatment are available, Österreichische Post AG will contact the recipient. This may result in additional costs. 

 
Items with a merchandise value of more than EUR 150 are subject to customs duties. The amount of these duties strongly depends on the merchandise itself and will therefore vary. 
Go to all FAQ

Zoll Import Änderungen Pakete auf Förderband

Zoll Import Änderungen per 01.07.2021

 

Am 01.07.2021 fällt die 22 Euro-Freigrenze für Warenimporte aus Drittländern (Nicht-EU Ländern). Das bedeutet, dass jede Warensendung ab diesem Zeitpunkt dem jeweiligen Einfuhrumsatzsteuersatz unterliegt, unabhängig von ihrem Warenwert. Diese Änderung basiert auf einer Entscheidung der EU-Kommission, um mehr Steuergerechtigkeit am heimischen bzw. EU-Markt zu gewährleisten. Sogenannte "Schnäppchenkäufe" in Drittländern (Nicht-EU Ländern) werden somit auch versteuert und damit teurer. Zollabgaben werden weiterhin erst ab einem Warenwert von über 150,- Euro fällig.

Zoll Beispiel Kauf einer Handyhülle in China

Beispiel

Kauf einer Handyhülle

Bestellt man in einem chinesischen Online-Store eine Handyhülle zum Kaufpreis von 3,- Euro fällt bis 01.07.2021 weder die Einfuhrumsatzsteuer noch Zoll an. Somit auch kein Zollstellungsentgelt, da der Kaufpreis kleiner als 22,- Euro ist und somit die Freigrenze greift.

Ab 01.07.2021

Ab 01.07.2021 unterliegt selbst eine Handyhülle zum Kaufpreis von 3,- Euro der Einfuhrumsatzsteuer von 20%. Zoll fällt hier aufgrund des geringen Warenwerts (unter 150,- Euro Kaufpreis) nicht an. Die Berechnungsgrundlage für die Einfuhrumsatzsteuer (EUSt) wäre somit 6,- Euro und damit 1,20 Euro EUSt. Der voraussichtliche Importtarif für Drittländer beträgt in diesem Fall 5,- Euro. Die Gesamtimportkosten (Ware, Versand, EUSt und Importtarif) für die Handyhülle betragen somit in diesem Beispiel 12,20 Euro.

Die Rolle der Post beim Import 

Sofern die ausländischen Handelsunternehmen die Einfuhrumsatzsteuer (EUSt) nicht direkt dem*der Kund*in verrechnen, führt die Post zunächst den Einfuhrumsatzsteuerbetrag an die Zollbehörde ab und verrechnet sie anschließend bei der Zustellung der Ware dem*der Sendungsempfänger*in. Für den Aufwand, der durch die Erfassung und Bereitstellung elektronischer Daten entsteht, verrechnet die Post eine Gebühr in Form des Zollstellungsentgeltes bzw. des Importtarifs. Sollte die Post nicht alle Unterlagen zur Feststellung der Importabgaben erhalten, kommt es zu einem sogenannten Zollhindernis. Der*die Kund*in muss kontaktiert werden und fehlende Unterlagen nachreichen.

Beispiele für Zollhindernisse sind:  fehlender Wertnachweis der Sendung, unplausibler Warenwert, fehlende Bewilligungen, usw.
Bei einem Zollhindernis entsteht ein zusätzlicher administrativer Aufwand. Dafür wird das Bearbeitungs- und Lagerentgelt in Rechnung gestellt. 

Achtung! Auch wenn man bei einem Versandhändler in der EU bestellt, kann es sein, dass die Ware aus einem Drittland (z. B. China) kommt.

 
Zoll Beispiel Kauf einer Lederjacke in den USA

Rechenbeispiel

Kauf einer Lederjacke 

Der Kaufpreis der Jacke beträgt 1.000,- Euro, die Versandkosten belaufen sich auf 100,- Euro. Kaufpreis und Versandkosten bilden die Berechnungsgrundlage für die Zollabgaben. Der Zollsatz beträgt für Kleidungstücke 4%. Die Zollabgabe beläuft sich somit auf 44,- Euro (4% von 1.100,- Euro).
Der Einfuhrumsatzsteuersatz für Kleidungsstücke beträgt in Österreich 20%. Um die 20%ige Einfuhrumsatzsteuer zu errechnen muss man den Warenwert, die Versandkosten und die Zollabgaben zusammenzählen und davon 20% errechnen. Somit beträgt die EUSt 228,80 Euro und die Gesamtimportabgaben damit 272,80 Euro.
Die Gesamtkosten für die Lederjacke aus den USA inkl. Versand und Importabgaben belaufen sich auf 1.372,80 Euro.

Importsendung wird zugestellt

Erwartet man eine Importsendung, gibt es folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Annahme der Sendung über Zustellung bzw. Abholung in der Postfiliale und Bezahlung der etwaigen Importabgaben (Zollabgabe, Importtarif für Drittlandsendungen, Einfuhrumsatzsteuer, Verbrauchssteuer, ggf. Bearbeitungs- und Lagerentgelt)
  • Annahmeverweigerung: es fallen keine zusätzlichen Kosten an, die Sendung wird an den Absender retourniert
Zollhindernis

dokumentenupload

Zollhindernis

Erwartet man eine Sendung aus einem Drittland (Nicht-EU-Land), kann es vorkommen, dass nicht alle notwendigen Dokumente für die ordnungsgemäße Verzollung vorliegen. Es kommt somit zu einem Zollhindernis, wie zum Beispiel:

In der Sendungsverfolgung (durch Eingabe der Sendungsnummer unter post.at/sendungsverfolgung) wird der*die Kund*in über etwaige Zollhindernisse informiert. Um eine reibungslose Zustellung der Sendung zu ermöglichen ist es notwendig, dass der*die Empfänger*in fehlende Dokumente nachreicht.

Dokumente nachreichen bei Zollhindernis

Kommt es zu einem Zollhindernis wird der*die Kund*in darüber informiert. 
Entweder:

  1. per Brief
  2. per eMail
  3. per Post APP

In jedem Fall gibt es die Möglichkeit die fehlenden Dokumente nachzureichen um eine reibungslose Verzollung und damit Zustellung der Sendung zu ermöglichen

  1. Sendungsverfolgung

    Zollhindernis in der Sendungsverfolgung

    In der Sendungsverfolgung ist das Zustellhindernis ersichtlich. Der*die Kund*in kann die fehlenden Dokumente hochladen indem er/sie auf "Zollhindernis bearbeiten. Dokumente nachreichen" klickt.

  2. Zollhindernis

    Fehlende Dokumente online hochladen

    Auf der nächsten Seite kann das Zollhindernis bearbeitet werden. Hier hat man nun die Möglichkeit das fehlende Dokument hochzuladen. 

  3. Zollhindernis

    Zustellung kann erfolgen

    Wurden alle fehlenden Dokumente nachgereicht, kann die Verzollung erfolgen und die Sendung danach ordnungsgemäß zugestellt werden.

FAQ Zoll Import

Die Regelung soll mehr Steuergerechtigkeit zwischen weltweiten Handelsunternehmen sowie den Händlern in der EU und damit auch österreichischen Händlern bringen. Denn auch der Kunde, der im österreichischen Handel einkauft, muss für die Ware Umsatzsteuer bezahlen.

Private Geschenksendungen sind Warensendungen von einer Privatperson aus einem Nicht-EU-Staat an eine andere Privatperson in der EU, wenn sie

  • gelegentlich erfolgen, 
  • sich ausschließlich aus Waren zum Eigenbedarf zusammensetzen und nach Art und Menge keine Einfuhr zu geschäftlichen Zwecken vermuten lassen und
  • die Empfängerin/der Empfänger ohne irgendeine Bezahlung erhält.

Für private Geschenksendungen besteht eine Abgabenfreiheit bis zu einem Warenwert von 45 Euro. 

 
Für Sendungen mit einem Warenwert über 150 Euro fallen zusätzlich Zollabgaben an. Die Höhe dieser Abgaben ist stark von der Ware selbst abhängig und unterschiedlich hoch.
Weiter zu allen FAQ