Management

Georg Pölzl, CEO, Chairman of the Management Board

Georg Pölzl has been Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Austrian Post since 1 October 2009. He consistently focuses on profitability and service orientation at Austrian Post. By following this path, Austrian Post will be able to succeed in times of market liberalisation and prepare the corporation for the future. 
Based on its strong position in Austria, Austrian Post’s strategy is clearly aligned with the following cornerstones: securing and expanding Austrian Post’s market leadership in Austria as well as pursuing growth in selected markets, especially in the Parcel & Logistics Division; continuously improving efficiency and streamlining the cost structure as well as developing even better customer orientation and introducing innovations in all business areas.
In cooperation with employees and executives, Austrian Post developed a corporate mission statement designed to serve as a guideline for the organization’s corporate culture. This mission statement describes the values the company believes in when it comes to interaction among employees, with clients, business partners and shareholders.

CV
Area Of Responsibility



Walter Oblin, Deputy CEO, Mail & Finance

Walter Oblin has been Chief Financial Officer of Austrian Post since 1 July 2012. In addition, since 1 January 2019, he has also been in charge of the Mail & Direct Mail Division as well as Mail Solutions. As such, he was also appointed Deputy Chairman of the Board of Austrian Post. As the Chief Financial Officer, he is responsible for the following highly relevant areas at Austrian Post: Group Accounting & Treasury, Group Controlling, Group IT & Procurement as well as Group Legal. As the responsible board member for the Mail & Direct Mail Division, he is also in charge of marketing and sales activities for Mail, Direct Mail and physical and digital Mail Solutions including the relevant holdings.

CV
Area Of Responsibility



Peter Umundum, Member of the Management Board, Parcel & Logistics

Peter Umundum joined Austrian Post in 2005 as a co-director of the Mail Division. Since 1 April 2011, he has been the board member in charge of the Parcel & Logistics Division, which has a strong market presence and company-owned subsidiaries in ten European countries. Peter Umundum is also the chairman of the supervisory board of EURODIS, a European transport network. Since 1 January 2019, Peter Umundum has additionally been in charge of operations ind the Mail & Parcel Division. The Parcel & Logistics Division’s main assets are its comprehensive high-quality parcel services as well as its strong market position, which allows the division to provide efficient logistics services as well as value-added services tailored to the needs of every specific market. The division continues to focus on achieving profitable growth in Europe, expanding its range of services based on customers’ needs as well as taking every opportunity to increase efficiency.

CV
Area Of Responsibility

 

 

Supervisory Board

 
Shareholder representatives

Edith Hlawati, Chairwoman
Independent; first elected: 26 April 2007, born in 1957
Attorney and partner at the law firm Cerha Hempel Spiegelfeld Hlawati

Edeltraud Stiftinger, Deputy Chairwoman 
Independent; first elected: 15 April 2015, born in 1966
Managing director, Wirtschaftsservice GmbH

Jochen Danninger 
Independent; first elected: 19 April 2018, born in 1975
Managing director, ecoplus, Niederösterreichs Wirtschaftsagentur GmbH

Huberta Gheneff
Independent; first elected: 19 April 2018, born in 1964
Attorney and partner at the law firm Gheneff-Rami

Peter E. Kruse
Independent; first elected: 24 April 2014, born in 1950
Independent business consultant, investor and business angel

Chris E. Muntwyler
Independent; first elected: 22 April 2010, born in 1952
CEO, Conlogic AG (Switzerland), positions at publicly listed companies: Panalpina World Transport AG (Switzerland), National Express Group PLC (UK)

Herta Stockbauer
Independent; first elected: 15 April 2015, born in 1960
CEO, BKS Bank AG

Stefan Szyszkowitz
Independent; first elected: 19 April 2018, born in 1964
CEO, EVN AG

 
Staff representatives

Helmut Köstinger
Member since 14 April 2005, born in 1957
Chairman of the Central Works Council of Österreichische Post AG

Martin Palensky
Member since 22 February 2002, born in 1963
Deputy Chairman of the Central Works Council of Österreichische Post AG

Maria Klima
Member since 30 October 2018, born in 1980
Member of the Central Works Council of Österreichische Post AG

Manfred Wiedner
Member since 3 March 1999, born in 1963
Member of the Central Works Council of Österreichische Post AG

 
Independence of the Supervisory Board

Pursuant to C-Rule 53 of the Austrian Corporate Governance Code, the Supervisory Board of Österreichische Post AG has defined the following criteria to determine the independence of Supervisory Board members, which are compliant with Appendix 1 of the January 2015 version of the Austrian Corporate Governance Code:

1. Supervisory Board members shall not have served as a member of the Management Board or as an executive of the company or one of its subsidiaries in the past five years.

2. Supervisory Board members shall not maintain or have maintained in the past year any business relations with the company or one of its subsidiaries to an extent that is significant for the Supervisory Board member in question. This shall also apply to rela-tionships with companies in which Supervisory Board members have a considerable economic interest, but not to carrying out functions on corporate bodies. The approval of individual transactions by the Supervisory Board according to L-Rule 48 does not auto-matically mean the person is considered to be not independent.

3. Supervisory Board members shall not have been an auditor of the company, have owned a share in the auditing company or have worked there as an employee in the past three years.

4. Supervisory Board members shall not be members of the Management Board of an-other company in which a Management Board member of this company is a Supervisory Board member.

5. Supervisory Board members shall not serve as members of the Supervisory Board for more than 15 years. This does not apply to Supervisory Board members who are share-holders with a stake in the company or who represent such a shareholder’s interests.

6. Supervisory Board members shall not be a close relative (i.e. direct descendant, spouse, partner, parent, uncle, aunt, sibling, niece or nephew) of Management Board members or of persons in one of the above-mentioned positions.

All shareholder representatives of Österreichische Post are independent. Written decla-rations of their independence have been submitted in accordance with the above-mentioned criteria. No shareholder representative has a stake of more than 10% in the company or represents the interests of such a shareholder.

There are no agreements between Supervisory Board members and Österreichische Post which would require consent or disclosure pursuant to Rules 48 and 49 of the Aus-trian Corporate Governance Code.

Vorstand

DI Dr. Georg Pölzl, Vorstandsvorsitzender, Generaldirektor (CEO)

Georg Pölzl ist seit 1. Oktober 2009 Vorstandsvorsitzender und Generaldirektor der Österreichischen Post AG. Georg Pölzl geht einen konsequenten, wirtschaftlichen und serviceorientierten Weg, das Unternehmen Post in der Marktliberalisierung erfolgreich auf Kurs zu halten sowie fit für die Zukunft zu machen.
Ausgehend von der starken Position in Österreich ist die Strategie der Österreichischen Post auf folgende Eckpunkte klar ausgerichtet: Sicherung und Ausbau der Marktführerschaft in Österreich sowie Wachstum in definierten Märkten insbesondere im Bereich Paket & Logistik, laufende Effizienzsteigerung und Flexibilisierung der Kostenstruktur sowie konsequente Kundenorientierung und Innovation in allen Tätigkeitsbereichen.
Als Basis für die Unternehmenskultur wurde das Leitbild der Post gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeitern und Führungskräften entwickelt. Es beschreibt die Werthaltungen für den Umgang miteinander, mit Kunden, Geschäftspartnern und Aktionären.

Lebenslauf
Verantwortungsbereiche


DI Walter Oblin, Generaldirektor-Stellvertreter, Vorstand Brief & Finanzen

Walter Oblin ist seit 1. Juli 2012 Finanzvorstand der Österreichischen Post. Zudem verantwortet er seit 01.01.2019 die Geschäftsfelder Brief & Werbepost sowie Mail Solutions und wurde im Zuge dessen auch zum Generaldirektor-Stellvertreter des Konzerns ernannt. Im Finanzressort sind mit den Bereichen Konzern-Rechnungswesen & Treasury, Konzern-Controlling, Konzern-Immobilien, Konzern-IT & -Einkauf sowie Konzern-Recht wesentliche Steuerungs- und Dienstleistungsfunktionen für den Konzern Österreichische Post AG zusammengefasst. Die Verantwortung des Segments Brief & Werbepost beinhaltet zusätzlich die Marketing- & Vertriebsaktivitäten in den Bereichen Brief-, Werbe- & Medienpost sowie die physischen & digitalen Leistungsangebote des Bereichs Mail Solutions inklusive der jeweils zugehörigen Beteiligungen.

Lebenslauf
Verantwortungsbereiche


DI Peter Umundum, Vorstand Paket & Logistik

Peter Umundum wechselte 2005 als Mitglied der Divisionsleitung Brief zur Österreichischen Post AG. Seit 1. April 2011 verantwortet er als Vorstandsdirektor die Division Paket & Logistik, die mit eigenen Gesellschaften in zehn europäischen Ländern präsent ist. Zusätzlich übernahm Peter Umundum den Vorsitz des Aufsichtsrates des europäischen Transportnetzwerks EURODIS. Seit 01.01.2019 trägt er zusätzlich die Verantwortung für die Produktion und Logistik der Sparten Brief und Paket. Die Stärken der Division Paket & Logistik sind flächendeckende und qualitativ hochwertige Services für den gesamten Logistikprozess der Produkte Brief, Werbepost und Paket, sowie eine möglichst starke Marktposition, um ihren Kunden effiziente Logistik und auf den jeweiligen Markt zugeschnittene Mehrwertdienstleistungen anbieten zu können. Der Fokus der Division Paket & Logistik liegt weiterhin auf profitablem Wachstum innerhalb Europas, einer kundenorientierten Weiterentwicklung des Serviceportfolios sowie der konsequenten Umsetzung von Effizienzpotenzialen. 

Lebenslauf
Verantwortungsbereiche

Aufsichtsrat

Kapitalvertreter

Dr. Edith Hlawati, Vorsitzende

unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 26.4.2007, geb. 1957
Rechtsanwältin und Partnerin der Rechtsanwaltskanzlei CERHA HEMPEL Rechtsanwälte GmbH

Dr. Maximilian Schnödl, MBA, Stv. Vorsitzender
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 17.6.2020, geb. 1983
CEO Springbrook Software

Mag. Huberta Gheneff
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 19.4.2018, geb. 1964
Rechtsanwältin und Partnerin der Rechtsanwaltskanzlei Gheneff-Rami

Felicia Kölliker, MA, EMBA
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 17.6.2020, geb. 1977
CRO PostFinance AG, Bern

Dr.-Ing. Peter E. Kruse
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 24.4.2014, geb. 1950
Freier Unternehmensberater, Investor und Business Angel

Chris E. Muntwyler
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 22.4.2010, geb. 1952
CEO der Conlogic AG (Schweiz)

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sigrid Stagl
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 17.6.2020, geb. 1968
Departmentvorständin Sozioökonomie Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien

Mag. Stefan Szyszkowitz, MBA, Finanzexperte
unabhängig, erstmals gewählt: 19.4.2018, geb. 1964
CEO EVN AG

Arbeitnehmervertreter

Helmut Köstinger
Mitglied seit 14. April 2005, geb. 1957
Vorsitzender des Zentralausschusses der Bediensteten der Österreichischen Post AG

Martin Palensky
Mitglied seit 22. Februar 2002, geb. 1963
Vorsitzender-Stv.des Zentralausschusses der Bediensteten der Österreichischen Post AG

Maria Klima
Mitglied seit 30. Oktober 2018, geb. 1980
Mitglied des Zentralausschusses der Bediensteten der Österreichischen Post AG

Manfred Wiedner
Mitglied seit 3. März 1999, geb. 1963
Mitglied des Zentralausschusses der Bediensteten der Österreichischen Post AG

 

Unabhängigkeit des Aufsichtsrats

Der Aufsichtsrat der Österreichischen Post AG hat gemäß C-Regel 53 des Österreichischen Corporate Governance Kodex folgende Kriterien zur Feststellung der Unabhängigkeit von Aufsichtsratsmitgliedern, die dem Anhang 1 des Österreichischen Corporate Governance Kodex in der Fassung Jänner 2015 entsprechen, festgelegt:

1. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll in den vergangenen fünf Jahren nicht Mitglied des Vorstands oder leitender Angestellter der Gesellschaft oder eines ihrer Tochterunternehmen gewesen sein.

2. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll zur Gesellschaft oder einem ihrer Tochterunternehmen kein Geschäftsverhältnis in einem für das Aufsichtsratsmitglied bedeutenden Umfang unterhalten oder im letzten Jahr unterhalten haben. Dies gilt auch für Geschäftsverhältnisse mit Unternehmen, an denen das Aufsichtsratsmitglied ein erhebliches wirtschaftliches Interesse hat, jedoch nicht für die Wahrnehmung von Organfunktionen im Konzern. Die Genehmigung einzelner Geschäfte durch den Aufsichtsrat gemäß L-Regel 48 führt nicht automatisch zur Qualifikation als nicht unabhängig.

3. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll in den letzten drei Jahren nicht Abschlussprüfer der Gesellschaft oder Beteiligter oder Angestellter der prüfenden Prüfungsgesellschaft gewesen sein.

4. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll nicht Vorstandsmitglied in einer anderen Gesellschaft sein, in der ein Vorstandsmitglied der Gesellschaft Aufsichtsratsmitglied ist.

5. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll nicht länger als 15 Jahre dem Aufsichtsrat angehören. Dies gilt nicht für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder, die Anteilseigner mit einer unternehmerischen Beteiligung sind oder die Interessen eines solchen Anteilseigners vertreten.

6. Das Aufsichtsratsmitglied soll kein enger Familienangehöriger (direkte Nachkommen, Ehegatten, Lebensgefährten, Eltern, Onkel, Tanten, Geschwister, Nichten, Neffen) eines Vorstandsmitglieds oder von Personen sein, die sich in einer in den vorstehenden Punkten beschriebenen Position befinden.

Alle Kapitalvertreter der Österreichischen Post sind unabhängig, es liegen schriftliche Erklärungen über ihre Unabhängigkeit gemäß oben genannter Kriterien vor. Kein Kapitalvertreter ist Anteilseigner einer Beteiligung von mehr 10% oder vertritt die Interessen eines solchen Anteilseigners.

Zwischen den Aufsichtsräten und der Österreichischen Post gibt es keine Verträge, die gemäß Regel 48 und 49 des ÖCGK zustimmungspflichtig oder offenzulegen sind.