European Capital of Culture Bad Ischl Salzkammergut 2024 12.12.2023

Special stamp Salzkammergut

With the Salzkammergut and Bad Ischl as the "flagship town," an inner Alpine, rural region was named a European Capital of Culture for the first time.

Since 1985, the title of European Capital of Culture has been awarded by the European Union. More than 60 European cities and regions have been honoured to date, including Graz (2003) and Linz (2009). The Capitals of Culture for 2024, alongside the Salzkammergut with 23 participating Upper Austrian and Styrian municipalities, are Tartu in Estonia and Bodø in Norway. The Salzkammergut Capital of Culture region has developed four program lines that guide its agenda: “Power and Tradition,” “Culture in Motion,” “Sharing Salzkammergut – The Art of Traveling,” and “Globalocal – Building the New.” Through numerous projects, the region presents itself, showcasing the diversity of traditional and contemporary art and culture, as well as opportunities for actively shaping the future.

Value: 0.95 euros
First day of issue: 20 January 2024
Stamp size: 33.30 x 40.00 mm
Graphic design: Marion Füllerer
Printing: bpost Stamps Printing
Printing technique: offset printing
Quantity: 300,000 stamps on sheets of 50 units each 

Go to philately shop